Driving Without Insurance

Car insurance is legally mandated by N.J.S.A. 39:6B-1 in New Jersey. The law is simple and clear: You must have coverage on vehicles you own and drive. This is true for every car that is registered in New Jersey or principally kept and used within the state.

Insurance can be expensive. Some people opt to drive without it to save money. They feel like driving is a right and shouldn't be taken away just because of economic circumstances. They do not like to be told how to spend their own money. Why not just risk it, they ask, especially if you're a safe driver and you do not expect to crash? So what happens when someone gets caught driving without insurance?

Do not do it. It is a clear violation of state laws. The justifications will not matter to a responding officer. If you get pulled over, even for something as minor as not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign, you could face serious ramifications if you do not have insurance.

Potential Penalties

Uninsured drivers will get a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000 for just a first offense. They may also have to pay $250 surcharges to the DMV for the next three years — $750 total — and they face a mandatory license suspension for the next 12 months. On top of that, drivers may need to pay additional fees and court costs, and the court can order community service.

For a second offense, the fine could range as high as $5,000. This offense also comes with a 14-day mandatory jail sentence. You may have to do community service for 30 days, and your license gets suspended for 24 months. Even when that two-year period expires, you do not automatically get the license back. You have to apply for it, appealing to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles.

The Local Lawyers You Need

You may have thought driving without insurance was just a financial risk if you got in an accident. Now you know better. If you are facing charges and you are shocked by how serious they are, rest assured that we can help fight for your rights here at D'Alessandro & D'Alessandro, LLC, in Basking Ridge, New Jersey. We are compassionate attorneys who give you the attentive, personal service you deserve. We have more than 35 years of experience, and we are a local firm that cares about the community.

If you want to find out just what we can do for you, please contact us online or call 908-340-6459 to set up a consultation.