What Happens If Someone Leaves The Scene Of An Accident?

New Jersey law requires you to stay at the scene of a car accident. Even in minor accidents, you need to stop and exchange information with the other driver. If someone is hurt or killed, or if enough damage is done that costs more than $500, you also need to contact the police and wait for them to arrive. If you do end up fleeing the scene, you could face additional charges and consequences, even if you did not cause the accident.

A situation like this can quickly spiral out of control due to one spur-of-the-moment decision in a high-stress situation. Here at D'Alessandro & D'Alessandro, LLC, in Basking Ridge, New Jersey, our lawyers can help you understand your rights and legal options. We are a well-known local firm with plenty of experience in the local court system. We have been doing this for more than 35 years, and we are a family-owned firm that cares about the community. When you need an accident attorney who is dedicated and honest to help protect your rights, you need to call us.

Potential Penalties

You must understand the potential penalties of leaving the scene. Even if no one got hurt, you can get fines between $200 and $400 for a first offense. You could also go to jail for a month and lose your driver's license for six months.

If you leave the scene after someone was hurt or killed in the crash, you could get fines that run between $2,500 and $5,000. You may go to jail for 180 days. On top of that, you can lose your license for 12 months if this is your first offense. If it is your second offense, you could get a lifetime suspension.

Penalties are especially stiff after a serious injury, resulting in risk of death, permanent disabilities or disfigurement. If you leave after that type of accident, you could get five years behind bars.

Understanding Your Rights

Maybe you were not thinking clearly after the accident. Perhaps you thought you needed to leave the scene to get help. No matter the circumstances, that one decision can have a drastic impact on your life because of the penalty you could face.

You must know what legal options you have if you were charged with a hit-and-run. Let our experienced attorneys guide you through every step. Contact us online for a consultation or call us at 908-340-6459.