If you have been found to be driving under the influence of alcohol in the state of New Jersey, the consequences that you will face will depend on the exact circumstances surrounding your arrest. It is important that you understand exactly how the law works in the state of New Jersey so that you know the steps you can take from here.
If you were driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, you will be charged with drunk driving. However, if you are found to be significantly over the legal limit and have a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher, you will face additional charges, even if this is your first offense.
The consequences of a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher
If you are found to be driving under the influence of alcohol for the first time and your BAC was 0.15 percent or higher, there will be many consequences. The offense could lead to up to 30 days in prison, a fine of up to 12 months, and a fine of up to $500. In addition to this, you will need to have an Ignition Interlock Device for up to 1 year after you gain back your license.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
An Ignition Interlock Device is a device that is installed in your vehicle. It measures your BAC, and if your BAC is over the legal limit, you will not be able to use your vehicle.
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, it is important to take action to defend yourself.