Basking Ridge, New Jersey Legal Blog

New Jersey drunk driving laws: What you should know

If you have been found to be driving under the influence of alcohol in the state of New Jersey, the consequences that you will face will depend on the exact circumstances surrounding your arrest. It is important that you understand exactly how the law works in the state of New Jersey so that you know the steps you can take from here.

If you were driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, you will be charged with drunk driving. However, if you are found to be significantly over the legal limit and have a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher, you will face additional charges, even if this is your first offense.

How does New Jersey charge drivers with suspended licenses?

When New Jersey suspends a driver’s license, the only time they hope to find the same driver in a car is with someone else behind the wheel. The state requires drivers with suspended registration and driving privileges to not operate any vehicles until they pay their fees and get their licenses reinstated.

Not being able to drive anywhere for months can be a massive inconvenience. The driver may want to just take their car out for a spin or they have very few options for transportation. If the police catch them in the driver’s seat during that period, the suspension time and punishments will become significantly worse.

The consequences of traffic violations in New Jersey

Traffic violations are considered by many to be a relatively insignificant occurrence. However, points on your license can be extremely costly because insurance companies use them to determine what kind of driver you are.

Therefore, if you have racked up one or more traffic violations, it is important that you understand the severity of the situation. In addition, you should make sure that you take the appropriate action if you believe that you were wrongly accused of a traffic violation.

Taking action after a speeding ticket in New Jersey

If you receive a traffic ticket in the state of New Jersey, it means you have technically broken the law, and this is why the traffic ticket needs to be taken seriously. However, traffic tickets are usually considered infractions under the law, which is the least serious type of crime.

It is important that action is taken after you receive a traffic ticket in the state of New Jersey, because if you do not pay the fine within the given time frame, you may face additional consequences.

What are the penalties for reckless driving in New Jersey?

Some traffic violation allegations have a higher level of severity than others here in New Jersey. Among these is being accused of reckless driving. A conviction on this offense carries harsher penalties than many other traffic violations. Today, we’ll go over some of the things being convicted of reckless driving can lead to.

Contact Us Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

We Can Help
  • D'Alessandro & D'Alessandro, LLC
    2 North Finley Avenue
    Basking Ridge, NJ 07920

    Toll Free: 800-200-1238
    Phone: 908-340-6459
    Fax: 908-766-6158
    Basking Ridge Law Office Map