An underage drunk driving conviction can have serious penalties for a teenager or college student. If you or your child has been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs, you need a skilled and knowledgeable attorney who knows how to fight these charges.
At the law firm of D’Alessandro & D’Alessandro, LLC, our Basking Ridge underage DUI lawyers have been defending clients in northern and Central New Jersey since 1975. We have in-depth knowledge of the local municipal court procedures and local law enforcement tactics.
We will work to reduce the charges or have the charges dismissed against you or your child. Contact our law firm online to learn more about our practice and how we can help you. We represent people throughout Basking Ridge, Bernards Township and Bedminster.
Zero Tolerance For Underage Drinking And Driving
If you are under 21 in New Jersey, any amount of alcohol in your system while driving can result in drunk driving charges. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is merely .01 percent or higher, you could face drunk driving charges. Additionally, if your BAC is over .08 percent, you will face charges as an adult.
Penalties For Underage DUI/DWI
A conviction for underage DUI, sometimes known as DWI, carries similar penalties to regular DUI. This can include:
- Fines and court costs
- Mandatory community service
- Thirty- to 90-day license suspension
- Jail time or juvenile detention
The penalties you or your child faces will depend on the level of intoxication. For more information about underage DUI, please visit the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission’s website.
Get Started Today
We know how to fight minor and underage drunk driving charges. From challenging the probable cause to contesting field sobriety testing, we will work to get the charges dismissed or the penalties reduced. To contact an attorney, call 908-340-6459.
We accept credit cards, offer flexible hours, and we are conveniently located in Bernards Township with easy access to and from Route 78 and Route 287.